Wednesday, October 12, 2011

Sultan Mizan Cup - Equestrian Endurance Challenge 2011

Posted by Hashim Abd Ghani On 12:08 AM

Sultan Mizan Cup, equestrian endurance challenge was held at Terengganu International Endurance Park (TIEP), Lembah Bidong, Terengganu from 7 Oct – 9 Oct 2011. The Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin leads 51 local riders in the fifth edition of the endurance challenge. A total of 70 riders from seven countries – Malaysia, Australia, France, Chile, Indonesia, Singapore, Slovakia and Thailand vied for honors in the day race. The other riders were from Australia, Chile, Slovakia, France, Indonesia, Singapore and Thailand. Malaysia is represented by the Ar-Raudah Equine Centre, Langkawi Endurance Stable, Mastercaff Endurance Team, Tengku Mahkota Kelantan EnduranceTeam and Perlis TSAB Stable.

Launching Sultan Mizan Cup 2011 by Yang DiPertuan Agong
Tuanku Mizal Zainal Abidin
Coming in first place , Wipawan Pawitayalarp of Thailand  rode home with RM63,000 in her pocket and an AmaSwiss watch worth RM54,000 on her wrist. Wipawan astride Mulawa Angelus completed the 120 km track in 6:17:43 with an average speed speed of 19.06km per hour.

Next to finished in good condition was M. Marlon and Mohammad Fuad Hashim from the State of Terengganu Endurance Team (STET) who clocked a time of 6:29:17 riding at an average speed of 18.5 km per hour.   He received a tidy sum of RM44,000 as the second place winner.  In third place was Zelma Lotter from TMKN Endurance Team on board Nashaar who won RM32,000 after having completed in a time of 7:02:35 with an average speed of 17.04 km per hour.

Completing the ride in 7:38:30 on Shardell Galazan, Thai rider Warit Khuntarhporn rode into fourth place chalking up a time of 7:38:30 and an average speed of 15.7 km per hour.  Royal Terengganu Endurance Stable’s Mohd Sulaiman Muda mounted on Jakim Murphy came in fifth, clocking 8:15;15 and an average speed of 14.54 km per hour.  

The much coveted Best Conditioned Horse Award went to M. Marlon ridden by second place winner Mohammad Fuad Hashim.  He won additional prize money of RM18,000.00.

Riders who completed the Sultan Mizan Cup International Endurance Challenge successfully each received an award of RM6,000 and a buckle, a tradition of the sport of endurance.

YAB Dato’ Seri Hj Ahmad Said, Menteri Besar of Terengganu said, “Our vision is to make the Sultan Mizan Cup the region’s premier endurance event and Terengganu the regional hub for the sport of endurance.”

The prizemoney for the 2011 Sultan Mizan Cup has been doubled that of last year. YAB Dato’ Seri Hj Ahmad Said, Menteri Besar of Terengganu presented prizes to the fifth, fourth, third and second place winners while Seri Paduka Baginda Yang Di-Pertuan Agong did the honors for the champion of the 2011 Sultan Mizan Cup as well as the winner of the Best Conditioned Horse Award.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin astride VV Coco 
Wipawan Pawitayalarp of Thailand
Champion - Sultan Mizan Cup 2011


Post a Comment