Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Makkah Through History - Part 5

Posted by Hashim Abd Ghani On 11:21 PM

CUSTODIAN OF THE TWO HOLY MOSQUES (خادم العر مين الشريفين)

King Abdul Aziz began conquering today's Saudi Arabia in 1902, by restoring his family as emirs of Riyadh. He then proceeded to conquer first the Nejd (1922) and then the Hejaz (1925). He progressed from Sultan of Nejd, to King of Hejaz and Nejd, and finally to King of Saudi Arabia in 1932.

The other kings have all been his sons and all likely immediate successors to the reigning King Abdullah will be from his progeny. Sons of Ibn Saud are considered to have primary claim on the Kingship of Saudi Arabia. This makes the Saudi Monarchy quite distinct from Western monarchies, which usually feature large, clearly defined royal families and orders of succession.
Saudi Arabia is ruled by Islamic law and purports to be an Islamic state, but many Muslims see a hereditary monarchy as being a discouraged system of government in Islam.

The King of Saudi Arabia is also considered the Head of the House of Saud and Prime Minister. The Crown Prince is also the "Deputy Prime Minister." The kings after Faisal have named a "second Deputy Prime Minister" as the subsequent heir after the Crown Prince.

The King of Saudi Arabia is Saudi Arabia's head of state and absolute monarch. He serves as the head of the Saudi monarchy — House of Saud. The King is called the Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques (خادم الحرمين الشريفين). The title, which signifies Saudi Arabia's jurisdiction over the mosques of Masjidil Haram in Makkah and Masjid Nabawi in Madinah, replaced His Majesty (صاحب الجلالة) in 1986. The first Saudi king to assume the title "Custodian of the Two Holy Mosques", was Fahd bin Abdul Aziz in 1986. This role had traditionally been that of the Caliph. The reigning king, Abdullah bin Abdul Aziz, has taken the same title after the death of King Fahd, his half- brother, in 2005.








Post a Comment