Saturday, September 17, 2011

Makkah Throughout History - Part 4

Posted by Hashim Abd Ghani On 5:47 PM

The Ottoman Empire lasted from 27 July 1299  to 29 October 1923, a major Muslim power that controlled territory in southeastern Europe, southwestern Asia, the Middle East and North Africa . At the height of its power, in the 16th and 17th centuries, The Ottoman Empire contained  29 provinces  and numerous vassal states, some of which were later absorbed into the empire, while others were granted various types of autonomy during the course of centuries.

With Constantinople (present-day Istanbul, Ottoman Turkish : Istanbul and Kostantiniyye Turkish) as its capital city, and vast control of lands around the eastern Mediterranean during the reign of Suleiman the Magnificent ( ruled 1520 to 1566), the empire was at the center of interactions between the  Eastern and Western worlds for six centuries. Eventually after this period, the empire began to undergo a political, administrative, financial and social decline.

The Ottoman Empire came to an end, as a regime under a caliphate, on 1 November 1922. It formally ended, as a de jure state, on 24 July 1923, under the Treaty of Lausanne. The Republic of Turkey, which was officially proclaimed on 29 October 1923, became one of the successor states of the Ottoman Empire as part of the treaty.



Post a Comment